Who Will Pay My Medical Bills After An Accident?
If you’re injured in an automobile accident in Colorado, many drivers figure their own insurance policy will cover their medical and other expenses and losses associated with the accident. However, if you have only the basic auto policy required by the state, you may be in for a rude awakening.
What to Do If You or a Loved One Was Hit by a Truck
Becoming seriously injured or losing a loved one in a trucking accident is a devastating event. According to the Texas Department of Transportation, there were over 38,000 crashes in the state in 2021 that involved commercial trucks. Of these, over 7,000 resulted in injury, and tragically, 705 were fatal. If a crash like this has affected you or your family, it’s natural to feel overwhelmed.
What to Do If You Are Hit by a Drunk Driver
Drunk driving is among the major causes of traffic accidents in Colorado and across the country. According to the statistics from the Colorado Department of Transportation, there were 5,032 total crashes involving drunk drivers in 2019, causing 2,780 injuries.
I Was Hit by an Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist. What Should I Do?
Suppose a negligent driver hits you on a Colorado roadway. You are injured, angry, and frightened. Then to add insult to injury, you find out your medical expenses, lost wages, and other damages far exceed the limits of the at-fault driver’s auto insurance—or worse, that the driver has no insurance at all.
What To Do As An Injured Passenger
The moments following an accident are often unsettling and may leave an injured passenger confused about what to do next, who to hold responsible, or how to seek damages for their injuries. If you have suffered an injury as a passenger in a Colorado traffic crash, you are within your rights to pursue fair compensation and hold the liable party accountable by filing an injury claim.
How Much is My Case Worth?
There are more than 120,000 motor vehicle accidents reported in Colorado every year. Although not every collision injures someone, thousands of claims are filed by those who are injured by a negligent party. Hundreds of thousands of dollars are paid to injury victims in settlements from those accidents.
Dos and Don’ts after an Injury
Being involved in an accident can be an emotional and overwhelming experience. Due to the shock, many accident victims are often confused about what to do next. Essentially, what you do – or do not do – after the incident can have a significant impact on the outcome of your injury claims.
The First 72 Hours After An Accident
According to the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) crash report, there were 121,648 total traffic crashes statewide in 2019. The first 72 hours following any kind of accident can be unsettling, emotional, and difficult to sort through. However, what you do—or fail to do—during this period can have a tremendous impact on the outcome of your injury case.
How Do You Know When to Contact a Personal Injury Law Firm
According to one personal injury study, plaintiffs who had legal representation recovered an average of $77,600 in financial compensation, compared to an average of $17,600 for those who proceeded on their own. When involved in an accident, having legal representation can make a significant difference in your personal injury case.