5 Things You Didn’t Know About Workers Compensation in Denver
April 6, 2016
On-the-job accidents are unfortunately common. Even when you may be cautious, accidents still happen. This is where your Denver workers compensation attorney will be your go-to source to get you through your recovery and make sure you get the compensation you need. Below are 5 things you may not know about workers compensation:
If you suffer from an on-the-job injury, the office of Mark A. Simon can help! With over 22 years of workers compensation, personal injury and auto accident experience, we are a premier Denver law office that will get you the justice you deserve. We have handled thousands of cases including a $2,950,000 workers compensation settlement—which is a record for the state of Colorado. If you need help with your workman’s compensation claim, give us a call at 303-321-HURT or contact Mark A. Simon now
- Report Your Claim within Four Days: Ideally according to the state of Colorado, you should put in your claim within four days of your injury, even if your employer does not have that guideline posted. Once you exceed those four days, you may lose your benefits the longer you wait. There may be some circumstances where you may not be able to file a report due to your condition. In this case, another person can file one on your behalf, may it be your spouse, a parent, etc.
- No-Fault State: Colorado has a no-fault system, which works to your benefit if you are injured on the job. This means that no matter who is actually at fault, whether it was yours or your employer's, insurance will still cover your claim in most cases if the insurance company approves it. Insurance companies will not always approve your claim, in which you are fully responsible for your expenses. Of course, there is a lot to learn here and one of the best ways is to read more on the Colorado government website’s article on Statute, Rules and Guidance.
- Choosing a Doctor: When it comes to medical care after an injury, your Denver workers compensation attorney can help. Essentially, you may be directed to you your work’s preferred medical provider. If you aren’t, then you can likely choose your own. However, there are some cases where your employer may direct you to a medical facility and you would prefer to use your own because of the quality service you are used to there. You can do that, but it may come at your expense and you end up needing to foot the bill.
- When Things Get Started: Upon your claim approval through the insurance company, workers compensation benefits will kick in and will pay for all authorized expenses and wage replacement on a bi-weekly basis.
- If Employer Does Not Report: If are injured on the job and your workplace does not report your injury for workers compensation, it is definitely something to be concerned about. There are actions you can take, and you are given up to two years to file this information. If this happens to you, find your local Worker’s Claim for Compensation Division and make an in-person visit. You can also download and mail in a form to 633 17th St., Suite 400, Denver, CO 80202-3660.
for a free introductory consultation.