Return To Blog

Workers’ compensation Denver: Maximum compensation limits


July 27, 2016

Maximum rates for Colorado workers’ compensation change every year and are set by the Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation. Rates remain effective throughout the state’s fiscal year, July 1 to June 30. Compensation rates come in two categories: daily rate (seldom used) and weekly rate (most common). A Denver workers’ compensation attorney will help injured workers obtain the maximum benefits allowable under state law.

The maximum temporary disability benefit schedule for the current fiscal year (July 1, 2015 - June 30, 2016) is as follows:
 
Days 1 2 3 4 5 6
    $130.61 $261.22 $391.83 $522.44 $653.05 $783.66
1 Week $914.27 $1,044.88 $1,175.49 $1,306.10 $1,436.71 $1,567.32 $1,697.93
2 Week $1,828.54 $1,959.15 $2,089.76 $2,220.37 $2,350.98 $2,481.59 $2,612.20
3 Week $2,742.81 $2,873.42 $3,004.03 $3,134.64 $3,265.25 $3,395.86 $3,526.47
4 Week $3,657.08 $3,787.69 $3,918.30 $3,048.91 $4,179.52 $4,310.13 $4.440.74
 
To earn the maximum benefits, the injured worker must meet certain wage minimums. For instance, to qualify for the maximum rate of $914.27, the injured worker must have earned at least $1,371.41 per week. The maximum compensation rate is 66 percent of the minimum wage rate for the duration of treatment.

Scheduled impairment is paid at a weekly maximum of $286.91 and non-scheduled (or medical) impairment is paid at a weekly rate of not less than $150 and not more than $502.35.

Bodily disfigurement results in higher compensation rates. The maximum is $4,840.14; however, extensive facial disfigurement, body scars, burns, or amputation resulting from loss of limb fall under an even higher maximum compensation up to $9,678.66. Lump sum compensation works out to lower weekly rate for the year. For an injured worker or sole dependent the lump sum compensation is $84,339.86. Injured workers with multiple dependents may not receive lump sum compensation greater than $168,677.59.

Colorado government value fatalities lower than disfigurement with a maximum death benefit of 25 percent of the maximum weekly benefit, not to exceed $914.27 per week.

Permanent partial disability benefits commence only after the treating physician determines that the worker’s condition has stabilized and further treatment will not restore full functionality. Colorado compensation for permanent partial impairment depends upon the severity of the impairment. An impairment rating of 25 percent or less will result in lower maximum compensation than higher impairment ratings. Impairment ratings are assigned by a physician to the affected parts of the injured worker’s body and may include psychological damage as well as physical damage.

Denver workers’ compensation attorney Mark A. Simon will work on the injured worker’s behalf to ensure he or she receives full benefits related to rehabilitation, medical expense coverage, and wage loss. If you have been injured on the job, call (303) 321-4878 to schedule a consultation.