In an Auto Accident in Denver? Know the Laws and Steps to Take
March 30, 2016
If you were in an accident, trust your premier Denver auto accident attorney to help you know your rights. You should also be aware of local state laws when it comes to how to handle the steps before or after an accident.
If you were injured in a car accident, you can rely on Mark A. Simon to be your go-to Denver auto accident attorney. Accidents can be difficult for victims, so you can trust me to be the top source to work with you personally and provide you with quality service. Our office will provide you the council you need to get the best settlement you can. Learn more about your rights and understand all types of circumstances, like who pays for repairs in an accident
- Immediate Action: Upon being in an accident, per Colorado state laws the accident must be reported immediately. You can contact the police or can fill out a report online through the Denver department of motor vehicles. The online form can only be used if there were not any injuries or fatalities, the accident was not a hit and run, public property was not damaged and if drivers are not under the influence, or suspected to be under the influence.
- Proper Way to Exchange Information: After authorities have been contacted and are on their way, or you both agree to fill out an online report if the circumstances allow, there are three critical pieces of information to exchange. First, share names. Be sure to get correct spellings. Second, exchange insurance information. This needs to include insurance company names and policy numbers. Last, exchange phone numbers (area code included).
- Insurance Requirements: According to the Colorado department of motor vehicles, all drivers must at least have liability car insurance. This will at least cover the other driver in the event of a wreck. The minimum amounts of coverage include: $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury and $15,000 per accident for property damage. Anything after these minimums is optional such as collision, comprehensive, medical, uninsured motorist, rental, loan or roadside assistance coverage. Also, you must carry your proof of auto insurance with you at all times while driving. Failure to have it when in an accident or even if pulled over by a police officer can result in a ticket.
- “Tort System” aka Fault Injury: Colorado is a “fault” injury state. This means that fault must be determined before an insurance company will handle a claim. Those involved in an auto accident in Denver not at fault for the accident are not able to use medical expenses from their own insurance provider. You must use the insurance company from the person at fault. In the event the driver at fault is not insured, or does not have enough insurance to cover medical expenses, this is where your uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance covers comes into play. This is something that can be added to existing insurance and is the only instance where those who were not at fault can use their own insurance to handle expenses.
. Give us a call at 303-321-HURT or fill out our contact form to start your free consultation.